Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Isaiah 61:1-2

The Spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me; because the LORD hath anointed me to preach good tidings unto the meek; he hath sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to them that are bound; To proclaim the acceptable year of the LORD, and the day of vengeance of our God; to comfort all that mourn;

 

This is a verse of scripture that is written in a really personal way, “The Spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me” and “he hath sent me”. This is certainly prophetic of our blessed LORD Jesus Christ but it most assuredly applies to me also in the day I live. We are epistles read of all men and we have all been made kings and priests because of the sacrifice of Jesus Christ. How can I love my neighbor as myself if I don’t share how the love of God brought liberty to me and set me free?

In my experience one of the big issues is that after we’ve walked with the Lord for awhile we shy away from talking about how the Lord’s love came to us and set us free. We certainly will talk about how great the Lord is and how awesome He is in our life and how He hears us when we pray but then we draw a line. We don’t want to talk about how when I was at the lowest point of my life and considering suicide that God’s presence suddenly filled my life because someone spoke to me in love and the clouds parted and the Sun of Righteousness arose in my life. We don’t want to talk about how we felt cursed because the church disapproved of our choices and had cast us aside. We are afraid that man or the church may think that we have a personality flaw if we show our scars.

When Jesus appeared to the disciples, after He had been crucified, there was one disciple there by the name of Thomas who was a doubter. He was a bit short in the faith department. Jesus set Thomas free from the captivity of his doubt by showing Thomas the scars that Jesus had suffered from His betrayal and crucifixion.

In the days ahead, as we move forward into whatever the LORD has appointed in this dispensation, may we not be ashamed of our scars but rather embrace what the LORD has made us and share His unconditional love with those He allows to cross our path. You and I are personally called to proclaim liberty to the captives.

