Tags

, , , , ,

Romans 8:16-17

The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God: And if children, then heirs; heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ; if so be that we suffer with him, that we may be also glorified together.

 

To bear witness is to testify jointly. In Romans 9:1 Paul wrote to the Romans these words, “I say the truth in Christ, I lie not, my conscience also bearing me witness in the Holy Ghost.” Paul is saying that because of my close relationship with Christ these are the things I have seen and experienced and I can not lie about it but I must express what I’ve experienced.

We can tell people what we have read in the Bible and we can tell people what we think the Bible means and we can even tell people what we believe and they can argue with that. However, when we testify about our personal experience no one can argue with that. When I tell you about my experience that is my experience the way that I see it and the way that it happened to me. My experience is not subject to your interpretation as it is what happened to me.

The Apostle Paul is testifying about his experience with Christ and what he had witnessed in his relationship with Christ. Paul says based on my experience, I can tell you that we are the children of God and the children receive their inheritance from their father. Likewise the children are joint heirs with the rest of their father’s children. Paul is saying based on my experience I can tell you that we are joint heirs with Christ.

If we walk in relationship with Christ we are joint heirs with Him. We will inherit His suffering as He also suffered for His relationship with His Father and as He suffered in order to do the will of the Father. Likewise we will also be joint heirs with Christ of the reward that is given to those whom suffer as children of the Heavenly Father. That is why in the next verse, Romans 8:18, the Apostle Paul says, “For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.”

Do we Christians live the perfect life free of trials, suffering and hard times?No, certainly not. However I can testify today, based on my experience that, “if so be that we suffer with him, that we may be also glorified together.”

