Tags

, , ,

Proverbs 3:9-10

Honour the LORD with thy substance, and with the firstfruits of all thine increase: So shall thy barns be filled with plenty, and thy presses shall burst out with new wine.

 

First fruits, quite obviously, are the very first things that come into fruition when raising crops. In the Old Testament they were required to bring the first fruits that their crops bare into the Temple as an offering. Although we are certainly no longer under the law of the Old Testament but rather live in the Dispensation of Grace, in the New Testament, we still should give the first fruits of our time, efforts and even monetary offerings unto the LORD.

While many may use this verse to preach and teach a way of prosperity, I would suggest that a higher application would be to the daily situations and circumstances of life that we all so often face.

What is my emotional and subconscious reaction and I am faced with an uncomfortable or unpleasant situation? Too many times my reaction is, “Are they crazy, what are they thinking?” It would seem to me that a much better reaction would be to offer a firstfruits praise to God Almighty for His glorious power and that He still reigns from heaven above upon His throne of mercy and grace with love.

First fruits is so much more than crops or money. While it certainly can be crops and money it most definitely needs to be our love, praise and adoration offered up to the King of kings and LORD of lords in every facet of our life.

If I offer up worship, praise and love in a situation I can stand upon the promise of barns filled with plenty and presses bursting with new wine. First fruits of love, praise and adoration come from plants of love, praise and adoration. My barns will be filled with and my presses will be bursting with the LORD’s love and adoration for me when I give Him my first fruits of love, praise and adoration.

