Tags

, , , , ,

2 Chronicles 7:14

If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.

 

Don’t we all sometimes wonder if God ever hears our prayer? I know there will be some that are so spiritual that they are convinced that they have the number to heavens’ hot line and God is expectantly sitting around waiting on their call. However for the greater part of us “humans”, if we are honest with ourselves, we sometimes wonder if God hears us or not. While the recipe to guarantee that God hears my prayer is rather simple and I certainly believe that He does, yet the human emotions sometimes don’t line up with the spiritual beliefs.

There are four simple prerequisites to ensure that my prayer is heard and that the result of that prayer is forgiveness and healing. Forgiveness and healing in my body, in my spirit, emotionally, financially, relationally and any other way that I may need it. Those four prerequisites are 1) humble myself 2) pray 3) seek God’s face, and 4) turn from my wicked ways.

This is not some process that must take us years to accomplish. This is a thing that can happen in a matter of one time of prayer. God is not limited to time but is rather an infinite God that lives and moves in space instead of finite time. As quickly as I meet the perquisites God will hear and can bring healing to my situation and circumstance.

If I humble myself and start praying and seeking God’s face then God will show me where I need to turn from something in my life. It’s not a matter of living to please some human being or a church. We will never get it exactly right anyway by their judgment but it is rather a matter of presenting myself before the LORD God for His instruction and verdict about what He considers good and evil in my life.

Genesis 1:4 says, “And God saw the light, that it was good: and God divided the light from the darkness.” It is God’s business to divide the light from the darkness in my life and nobody else’s including me.

 

