Tags

, , , , ,

John 14:16-18

And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you for ever; Even the Spirit of truth; whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth him not, neither knoweth him: but ye know him; for he dwelleth with you, and shall be in you. I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you.

 

The Comforter is the Spirit of Truth that dwelleth within us. John 8:32 says, “And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” Unfortunately it seems that the first place we human beings go when we find ourselves in some unpleasant situation or circumstance, is any place except to the Spirit of Truth that lives within us. We get on the phone, text somebody, email someone or pour it all out on someone close to us when the whole time the first place we should go is into the LORD’s presence and start seeking the truth within. It is no wonder that the Bible says that the Kingdom of God is within in Luke 17:21.

The Spirit of Truth dwells within us and is an inward restraint on the part of us that is still unlike Jesus. Now I know that some Christians will claim that they have it all under control and figured out but my testimony is that when the pressure is on I don’t always respond perfectly and sometimes the wrong emotions and feelings come boiling up and the wrong words spill out of mouth. It is at those times that the Comforter pleads my cause before the Father and reveals the truth to me. It seem a paradox to the finite human mind but when I allow the Spirit of Truth to restrain me on the inside I experience total freedom. Freedom is knowing that the LORD Jesus Christ is in complete control and rules and reigns from Heaven above in mercy, love and forgiveness.

As important as relationships with my fellow human beings are, my answer and the freedom I need in life is found within when I am in fellowship with Spirit of Truth.

