Tags

, , , , , , ,

2 Samuel 22:7

In my distress I called upon the LORD, and cried to my God: and he did hear my voice out of his temple, and my cry did enter into his ears.

 

How do we react in the midst of distress? In the Bible the word distress is also used to describe an adversary, foe, enemy or oppressor. For example when Abram returned from battle in Genesis 14:20 the Bible says, “And blessed be the most high God, which hath delivered thine enemies into thy hand. And he gave him tithes of all.” The word distress in 2 Samuel and in Genesis 14:20 are the same in the Hebrew. I think it would be easy for nearly everyone to agree that our enemies cause distress.

How do we react in distress? King David said, “In my distress I called upon the LORD, and cried to my God…” Previously in verse 4, King David had said, “I will call on the LORD, who is worthy to be praised: so shall I be saved from mine enemies.” Note that David said “I will call on the LORD, who is worthy to be praised…” David knew that the LORD was worthy to be praised when we call upon Him.

Whether in pleasure or in pain, when we call upon the LORD, He is worthy to be praised. When people are treating us right and with respect, kindness and concern, we should call upon the LORD because He is worthy to be praised. Likewise when our enemies are coming against us and causing all kinds of distress and unpleasant emotions and feelings we should call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised.

The LORD is worthy to be praised and it doesn’t depend upon my emotions or feelings at that moment. The LORD is worthy to be praised and it doesn’t depend upon how I am being treated at that moment. My love for the LORD of my life and His place of preeminence and Rulership in my life is because He loved me so much that He sent His Only Begotten Son to die for me on Calvary’s cross and it’s not because I happen to be feeling good and everyone is treating me right.

In my distress I will call upon the LORD for He is worthy to be praised!

