Tags

, , , , , ,

Psalm 138:1-3

I will praise thee with my whole heart: before the gods will I sing praise unto thee. I will worship toward thy holy temple, and praise thy name for thy lovingkindness and for thy truth: for thou hast magnified thy word above all thy name. In the day when I cried thou answeredst me, and strengthenedst me with strength in my soul.

 

The Psalmist says that before all the inanimate false gods, that are not even living things, I will sing praise unto thee, the living God who made all things. The Psalmist understood that Divine rescue was not the result of the psalmist’s virtues but of God’s loving fidelity.

Wherever the Psalmist ended up and in whatever circumstances he found himself in, it was his decision to worship towards God’s House and to praise the LORD’s Name for His lovingkindness and truth. It was not a private negotiation but a public act that would stir those around him to praise God’s greatness and care with him.

Instead of looking at whatever false gods or false images that would attempt to set themselves up and distract the Psalmist in the midst of life’s daily struggles, the Psalmist confesses that my focus is going to be towards where the LORD’s Name is and the LORD’s Name is above all the false images produced in this world.

In a world where we are continually more interconnected with electronics of every shape and form imaginable we are more relationally challenged than we have ever been. We spend way more time with our phone, computer or tablet than we do communicating with and interacting with the person sitting next to us. We live in an interconnected world filled with constant distractions.

In this world of distractions we must make an intentional choice to put the Living God of all in His proper place in our life by praising and worshipping the LORD, not for what I can receive from Him but for who He is and for what He has already done in my life.

