Tags

, , , , , , ,

John 14:21

He that hath my commandments, and keepeth them, he it is that loveth me: and he that loveth me shall be loved of my Father, and I will love him, and will manifest myself to him.

 

Lots of people claim to love Jesus. Christians, those who confess to having accepted Jesus as their Savior, will proclaim vehemently that they love Jesus. However Jesus says that if you love me you will have my commandments and you will keep them. Having the commandments and keeping them is loving Jesus. Love is not what we say but rather love is what we do. That is true in our natural human relationships and that is true is our spiritual relationship with Jesus Christ.

A man can say that he loves his wife and children when he leaves home in the morning, but if he spends all day chasing a physical relationship with another woman other than the mother of his children does he really love his wife? Love is not something we say but rather it is something we do. Love keeps us from sinning against our partner in some adulterous affair.

The same thing is true in my relationship with Jesus Christ, the lover of my soul. Loving Jesus is not just saying I love Jesus to other people. You will certainly do that if you love Jesus but loving Jesus is having His commandments and keeping them.

If I have Jesus’ commandments that means I have embraced them as my own. I can know about the commandments or I can choose to accept those commandments as my own. When I accept those commandments as Jesus’ commands to me personally and then I do them, I am choosing to love Jesus. In Matthew 22 Jesus said that there are two great commandments. Number one is that we are to love the LORD with all our being and number two is that we are to love our neighbor as ourself. On these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets. If we are keeping these two commandments, we are loving Jesus and if we are loving Jesus then the Father will love us and Jesus will manifest Himself to us.

Love is not we say but rather love is what we do. Jesus please teach us to love as you do.

