Tags

, , , , , , ,

Ecclesiastes 1:2-3

Vanity of vanities, saith the Preacher, vanity of vanities; all is vanity. What profit hath a man of all his labour which he taketh under the sun?

 

In Verse 14 of the first chapter of the Book of Ecclesiastes, Solomon said, “I have seen all the works that are done under the sun; and, behold, all is vanity and vexation of spirit.” After becoming filled with wisdom and acquiring riches and ruling over others, Solomon’s conclusion was that it was all vanity and vexation of spirit or it was empty, troubling and annoying. By the end of the book Solomon’s conclusion is, “Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter: Fear God, and keep his commandments: for this is the whole duty of man.” Ecclesiastes 12:13. Solomon concluded that both the wise and the foolish end in death so the best course of action is to fear God and keep His commandments.

Some would suppose that human beings are earthly creatures that have a spiritual experience when they accept Christ as the Lord of their life. I would suggest, however, that we are actually spiritual creatures having an earthly experience here in time. I may amass fame, riches and possessions but one day both the rich and the poor, both the wise and the foolish will bth come to the end of their earthly experience and return to the spiritual world on the other side. Death levels all things and all creatures. The only thing that is going to matter when I stand before the Creator and Judge of all things is, how I have treated others.

It is no wonder that Jesus said in Matthew 7:22-23, “Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works? And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity.” I can wrap myself in clothes of seemingly good deeds and service but have I reverenced, respected, served and loved Christ and kept His commandments? Acquiring, serving, getting and appearances are all vanity and vexation of spirit. The only thing that is going to matter when I leave this earth and stand before God Almighty is my relationship with Him.

May Jesus have mercy on our souls and prepare us for that day!

