Tags

, , , , , , ,

1 John 5:2-3

By this we know that we love the children of God, when we love God, and keep his commandments. For this is the love of God, that we keep his commandments: and his commandments are not grievous.

 

What is love really? Is it a feeling, an emotion? Love is very simply, “a choice.”

Love is a choice. That is why in Matthew the fifth chapter we are instructed to love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you. How am I going to do those things unless I just choose to. The feelings and emotions of my humanity is not going to want to bless when I am being cursed nor is it going to want to do good to those that hate me. Love is a choice and I can choose to love my enemies, I can choose to bless those that curse me, I can choose to do good to those that hate me and I can choose to pray for those who despitefully use me and persecute me. The feelings and emotions may not be there but I can choose to love.

1 John 4:8, “He that loveth not knoweth not God; for God is love.” God is love therefore everything He gives birth to, begats or creates is love. How can anything but love come out of a being whose very essence is pure love? So when I choose to love my neighbor I am loving God because because the substance my neighbor is made of is the same substance I am made of, specifically God’s love.

When I love God and keep His commandments I will choose to love my neighbor as myself not because of all the great feelings and emotions of love but because we love God and therefore we choose to love His children.

Love is a choice. May Jesus teach us to love as He does.

