Proverbs 20:9

Who can say, I have made my heart clean, I am pure from my sin?

No one can say, “I have made my heart clean, I am pure from my sin.” As human beings we do not have the power to make our heart clean. The only person who can do that is Jesus Christ.

Jesus Christ, the spotless Lamb of God, lived as a man and suffered the death of crucifixion, paying the price for my sin. As it says in Hebrews 4:15, “For we have not an high priest which cannot be touched with the feeling of our infirmities; but was in all points tempted like as we are, yet without sin.” I have never lived without sin therefore only Jesus is a worthy sacrifice and is able to pay the penalty of sin. What amazing inexplicable love that the spotless Lamb of God would pay the price for my sin that I may spend eternity with Him.

John 15:13, “Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.” Most human beings would not give their life for a righteous person much less a flawed and imperfect creature. Yet that is exactly what Jesus Christ did. Before I ever even knew I had a problem and needed a way out of it, he had already made a way for me.

What selfless infinite love!

As I’ve said before, we can refrain from sinning against our spouse because we feel like that is the right thing to do or we can refrain from sinning against our spouse because we love them so much. Likewise with Jesus. We can refrain from sinning against Him because that’s what the law says and because we are scared to death of Him or we can refrain from sinning because we love Him. How can we not love someone who choose to die in our place even though He is the only one who ever lived without sin. It is impossible for me to understand that kind of love. I want that kind of love.

Who can say, I have made my heart clean, I am pure from my sin? No one can say that but that is exactly what the love of Jesus Christ will bring to pass in our life.

